PUB Uncertainty Working Group 7

Uncertainty Estimation for Hydrological Modeling

 

Objective

 

The main task of this WG is to stimulate progress and guidance on uncertainty estimation and model evaluation (diagnostics) theory and techniques for hydrological science and for operational use. The fundamental science questions are:

 

(a) How can we (explicitly) estimate and propagate all sources of uncertainty in hydrological modeling?

 

(b) What is an appropriate framework for (model/method) evaluation under uncertainty?

 

Members (currently incomplete list)

 

Beven Keith  K.Beven@lancaster.ac.uk

Blazkova Sarka  sarka_blazkova@vuv.cz

Casper Markus  casper@uni-trier.de

Clark Martyn  mp.clark@niwa.co.nz

Diodato Nazzareno  scodalabdiodato@gmail.com

Feyen Luc  luc.feyen@geo.kuleuven.ac.be

Freer Jim  j.freer@lancaster.ac.uk

Goetzinger Jens  Jens.Goetzinger@iws.uni-stuttgart.de

Gupta Hoshin  hoshin.gupta@hwr.arizona.edu

Iorgulescu Ion  Ion.Iorgulescu@epfl.ch

Jackson Bethania  b.m.Jackson@imperial.ac.uk

Kolberg Sjur  Sjur.Kolberg@sintef.no

Lischeid Gunnar  gunnar.liescheid@bitoek.uni-bayreuth.de

Liu Yuqiong  Yuqiong.Liu@noaa.gov

McIntyre Neil   n.mcintyre@imperial.ac.uk

Meixner Tom  tmeixner@hwr.arizona.edu

Menzel Lucas  menzel@pik-potsdam.de

Montanari Alberto  alberto.montanari@unibo.it

Reichert Peter  reichert@eawag.ch

Rientjes Tom  rientjes@itc.nl

Schaefli Bettina  b.schaefli@tudelft.nl

Schulz Karsten  k2.schulz@tu-bs.de

Smith Paul  p.j.smith@lancs.ac.uk

Vandenberghe Vero vero@biomath.ugent.be

Vrugt Jasper vrugt@lanl.go

Wagener Thorsten  thorsten@engr.psu.edu

Wheater Howard  h.wheater@imperial.ac.uk

Wriedt Gunter  gunter.wriedt@ufz.de

Young Peter  p.young@lancaster.ac.uk

Zehe Erwin  ezehe@rz.uni-potsdam.de

 

WG Publications

 

Wagener, T., Freer, J., Zehe, E., Beven, K., Gupta, H.V., Bardossy, A., and 20 co-authors. 2006. Towards an uncertainty framework for predictions in ungauged basins: The uncertainty working group. In Sivapalan, M., Wagener, T., Uhlenbrook, S., Zehe, E., Lakshmi, V., Liang, X., Tachikawara, Y. and Kumar, P. (eds.) Predictions in ungauged basins (PUB): Promise and progress. IAHS Redbook, No. 303, 454-462.

 

WG Activities

 

Workshop, “Towards Improved Evaluation and Diagnostics of Hydrological and Environmental Models

Bertinoro, Italy, 2007

 

Bertinoro Workshop Picture.JPG

 

Workshop, “Uncertainty Analysis in Environmental Modeling”

Lugano, Italy, 2006

http://www.es.lancs.ac.uk/hfdg/uncertainty_workshop/uncert_intro.htm

 

Picture of Workshop Participants